Sunday, June 28, 2015

Dhammapada 87-89 [Khuddaka Nikaya]

6 - Panditavagga, The Wise
11 - Pancasata Agantukabhikkhu Vatthu

Kanham dhammam vippahaya, sukkam bhavetha pandito;
oka anokamagamma, viveke yattha duramam.
Tatrabhiratimiccheyya, hitva kame akincano;
pariyodapeyya attanam, cittaklesehi pandito.
Yesam sambodhiyangesu, samma cittam subhavitam;
adanapatinissagge, anupadaya ye rata;
khinasava jutimanto, te loke parinibbuta.
87 & 88: The man of wisdom, leaving the home of craving and having Nibbana as his goal, should give up dark, evil ways and cultivate pure, good ones. He should seek great delight in solitude, detachment and Nibbana, which an ordinary man finds so difficult to enjoy. He should also give up sensual pleasures, and clinging to nothing, should cleanse himself of all impurities of the mind.
89: Those, with mind well-developed in the seven Factors of Enlightenment (bojjhanga), having rid themselves of all craving, rejoice in their abandonment of attachment. Such men, with all moral intoxicants eradicated, and powerful (with the light of Arahatta Magganana), have realized Nibbana in this world (i.e., with Khandha aggregates remaining).
Reference: Mya Tin, Daw, tr. The Dhammapada: Verses and Stories. Rangoon: Burma Tipitaka Association, 1986.

Posted by Nyan U

Saturday, June 27, 2015

Dhamma Info (28)

Person who Waste Time
There are hundreds of paths up the mountain, all leading to the
same place, so it doesn't matter which path you take. The only
person wasting time is the one who runs around the mountain,
telling everyone that his or her path is wrong.
(Hindu Proverb)
Reference: Dhammakamo Bhikkhu. Garden of Mangala. 2014.

Posted by Aye Sat

Thursday, June 25, 2015

Theravada Audio Dhamma (45)

Candasara, Ashin (Kyaungkon Sayadaw). လွတယ္ဆိုတာဘယ္မွာလဲ။ [Where is the Beauty?]. Tavoy, 29 Sep 2009.
Explained: two types of reforming oneself; how
nothing is beautiful in Khanda.

Sobhana, Ashin (ShweMyintMo Sayadaw). ယခုေနာင္ခါ ခ်မ္းသာေရး။ [To be Peaceful Now and Then]. Yangon, 25 Jan 2014.
Mentioned: four Sampadha; four facts to be ruined;
four facts to be prosper at present; four facts to be
peaceful in future life; thirteen types of conscious-
ness; observation of hearing consciousness and
Dosa (anger) consciousness.

Teijosara, Ashin (Chin Taungdan Propagating Sayadaw). [Giving the Precepts]. သီလေပး။ Yangon, 2 Aug 2012.
Include: clarification of taking precepts_objectives of
making obeisance with Okasa supplication, solicita-
tion for the precepts, adoration to the Buddha, taking
of three refuges; the starting days of Dhamma and
Samgha refuges; advice to keep precepts taken
without breaking any of them.

Posted by Nyan U & Aye Sat