Saturday, January 1, 2011

Is Nibbana too far away or not from 31 Planes of Existence?

The highest and ultimate goal of Buddhists is Nibbana. The more one understands what Suffering is, the better one can percieve the meaning of Nibbana. By means of practising constant mindfulness one can certainly get the taste of Nibbana. It means the end of Suffering, and also the essence of Buddhism. To reach the end of Suffering is to eliminate Craving which causes Suffering occuring everywhere in the whole sphere of existence as follows:
1. Plane of The Immaterial World_4 (Arupa-loka)
31. N'evasanna-n'asannayatana-bhumi (Sphere of Neither perception nor non-perception)_84,000 Mahakappa
30. Akincannayatana-bhumi (Sphere of Nothingness)_60,000 Mahakappa
29. Vinnanancayatana-bhumi (Sphere of Infinite Consciousness)_40,000 Mahakappa
28. Akasanancayatana-bhumi (Sphere of Infinite Space)_20,000 Mahakappa
2. Plane of The Fine Material World_16 (Rupa-loka)
Fourth Jhana Planes (7)
27. Akanittha (the Peerless Brahmas)_16,000 Mahakappa
26. Sudassi (the Clear-sighted Brahmas)_8,000 Mahakappa
25. Sudassa (the Beautiful Brahmas)_4,000 Mahakappa
24. Atappa (the Serene Brahmas)_2,000 Mahakappa
23. Aviha (the Durable Brahmas)_1,000 Mahakappa
22. Asanna-satta (the Unconscious Brahmas with just rupa)_500 Mahakappa
21. Vehapphala (the Very Fruitful Brahmas)_500Mahakappa
(27-23) Suddhavasa = the 5 spheres of pure abodes; (only anagamis and arahants are found in these abodes, Non-Returners)
Third Jhana Planes (3)
20. Subha-kinna (the Brahmas of Refulgent Glory)_64 Mahakappa
19. Appamana-subha (the Brahmas of Infinite Glory)_32 Mahakappa
18. Paritta-subha (the Brahmas of Limited Glory)_16 Mahakappa
Second Jhana Planes (3)
17. Abhassara (the Brahmas of Streaming Radiance)_8 Mahakappa
16. Appamanabha (the Brahmas of Infinite Radiance)_4 Mahakap
15. Parittabha (the Brahmas of Limited Radiance)_2 Mahakappa
First Jhana Planes (3)
14. Maha-brahma (the Great Brahmas)_1 Mahakappa
13. Brahma-purohita (the Ministers of Brahma)_1/2 Mahakap
12. Brahma-parisajja (the Retinue of Brahma)_1/3 Mahakappa
3. Plane of The Sensuous World_11 (Kama-loka)
Kamasugati-bhumi_7 (States of Happiness)
11. Paranimmita-vasavati (Devas Wielding Power over the Creation of Others) [Mara resides here]_16,000 years {1 day=1,600 human years}
10. Nimmanarati (Devas Delighting in Creation)_6,000 celestial years {1 day=800 human years}
09. Tusita (Contented devas) [The Bodhisattas reside here before moving on to the human realm to attain Buddhahood. The Bodhisatta Metteyya is at present residing here awaiting to be the future Buddha.]_4,000 celestial years {1 day=400 human years}
08. Yama (Yama devas) [King Yama rules this realm of great happiness.That which destroys pain is Yama.]_2,000 celestial years {1 dat=200 human years}
07. Tavatimsa (The Thirty-three Gods) [The Sakka resides in Vejayanta Palace in Capital Sudassana. It was in this realm that the Buddha taught the Abhidhamma to the Devas for three months.]_1,000 celestial years {1 day= 100 human years}
06. Catumaharajika (Devas of the Four Great Kings) [Guardian Deities live here. East: Dhatarattha controls Gandhabbas; South: Virulhaka controls Kumbhandas; West: Virupakkha controls Nagas; North: Vessa/uvana controls Yakkhas.]_500 celestial years {1 day=50 human years}
05. Manussa (Human beings) [Human rebirth is brief and very rare]_10 years Upwards {Average Life-span Varies}
Manussa loka is a blissful sphere as the human can attain the Buddhahood. Every Buddha is always born as human being on this mixed sphere of both pain and pleasure.
Kamaduggati-bhumi_4 (States of Misery) Apaya-bhumi
04. Asura (Demon) [A kind of Petas who dwell miserably in secluded places.]
03. Peta (Ghost) [The ever-hungry invisible beings with deformed physique, generally, living in forests and dirty surroundings.]
02. Tiracchana (Animal) [Beings are born as animals because of evil kamma.]
01. Niraya (Hell) [The intense continuous suffering because of the bad Kamma. Re-birth inhigher states is possible after the exhaustion of the evil Kamma. There are eight major hells, viz.]
Sanjiva, Kalasutta, Sanghata, Roruva, Maharoruva, Tapana, Mahatapana, Avici

Posted by Nyan U

No comments:

Post a Comment